Looking Back: Gateway Motorsports Park

With round one of our 2017 competition season just three weeks away, we take a quick look back at the previous winners at a track that has become a staple and drive favorite of our series, Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, Illinois.

Our series first paid visit to the long, winding track in 2010 for the fourth of five rounds. Mike Feiock and his FC RX-7 would not only win that round, but go on to win the inaugural 2010 series title.

MDU would see 2011 and 2012 elapse without a visit to Gateway, but returned in 2013 to crown Mike Skudlarek (now one of our judges) the winner of round two. He would go on to clench second place overall in the series.

The following year saw something that’s only happened once in the history of the series – visiting the same track twice in the same year. The first was for round one, where Brian Peter grabbed the top spot on the podium. He would go on to dominate most of the series and end the season as champion with a huge points margin.

On the second visit of 2014 for the fifth (and possibly coldest) round, Feiock returned to take victory at Gateway for a second time, albeit in a new platform with his RX-8 which debuted earlier in the year.

The 2015 season would see the winner at Gateway shift back to being Nissan-based, as Hooman Rahimi took top honors at the final round.

And in 2016, Mike Feiock would clench a Gateway victory for the third time, making him the winningest drive at Gateway in series history.  He was back in an FC this time, as his RX-8 was still undergoing changes to prepare for the remainder of the season.

So there you have it, in six rounds at Gateway, Mike Feiock proves he’s not playing around at this track and Mazdas have taken four of the six wins. We’ll find our 2017 Gateway champion on May 28th.





2017-05-06T14:42:50+00:00 May 6th, 2017|Coverage, Pro Am, Uncategorized|